Maribyrnong City Council Logo
Skip Links

2016 Council Election

Local council elections are held every four years in October.

The 2016 Maribyrnong City Council Election was conducted by postal voting.

The election was conducted by the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC), the statutory provider of election services for all council elections in Victoria. Lodgement of postal votes closed on Friday 21 October 2016 at 6pm.

Failure-to-vote at the Maribyrnong City Council Local Government General Election in October 2016

Failure-to-vote notices have been issued by the VEC to persons who were required, but appear not to have voted in the Maribyrnong City Council elections in October 2016.

If you receive a notice you should respond to the VEC explaining why you didn't vote by Wednesday 1 March, 2017.

If you fail to respond to the notice, or do not provide a satisfactory response, you may be issued with an infringement notice (Penalty $78).

The 2016 election was conducted by the VEC on behalf of Council, therefore all queries in relation to apparent failure notices or infringement notices must be directed to the VEC on 1300 551 575.

More information is available on the VEC website.

Election result

The Victorian Electoral Commission declared the elected representatives of the 2016 City of Maribyrnong Council Elections on Monday 31 October.

The election results are as follows:

Stony Creek Ward River Ward Yarraville Ward
Catherine Cumming Gina Huynh Simon Crawford
Cuc Lam Sarah Carter Mia McGregor
Martin Zakharov

The elected representatives were sworn in as Councillors on Tuesday 8 November, 6pm at Maribyrnong City Council, corner Hyde & Napier Streets Footscray at a Special Meeting of Council.

Refer to the VEC website for more information.

Useful local government resources

There was a range of useful resources for people who wanted to learn more about local government as a sector, and the past council election. Visit these websites if you would like more information:

Want more information?

If you have any questions about council elections, contact the VEC on 131 832 or visit the website.

You can also contact Council's Governance Team on 9688 0020.

Powered by